Who Am I?

Explaining who I am to people who have never met me is always a challenge for me; I’m not really sure who I am.

The demographic part is easy. I’m a woman. I’m in my mid twenties (it’s still so weird to say that). I’ve lived in the United States of America all my life, and the only other country I’ve visited is Canada. I’m married, but I have no children yet. I’ve graduated college with a BA in English, history, religion, and education. I grew up in a home with a loving mom and dad who have an amazing relationship. I have one sister who is two years younger. I got married when I was 22 to an amazing man. We don’t have any kids yet, but hopefully one day.

I’ve had to move away from my family when my husband decided to go to seminary. The seminary is in a different state than where our parents live, but it’s only a 2.5 hour drive. Late this April, my husband will be assigned a church somewhere in the U.S. for his vicarage (basically practicing being a pastor for a year). I’m a little nervous about that, but more on that later.

I work as a nanny for a family that owns a cleaning company that cleans medical offices in nearly half of the United States. I do some secretary work for their business, and I am in charge of purchasing and organizing all the cleaning supplies that get delivered from state to state. It’s not a job I saw myself ever getting into, but it’s a job, and I’ve gotten very close with the girl I nanny and her mother.

In my off-time, I love to read and write. I play flute and handbells. My hobbies lately involve Netlfix more than not, which is a trend I am not proud of. Now that this long winter is over, I hope to get back into swimming, bike riding, rollerblading, etc. I’m an adrenaline junky, so I enjoy roller coasters (Cedar Point is the best!), ziplines, white water rafting, etc. I’ve been spending a lot of my free time helping two young women who are struggling with depression, self harm, addiction, post-abortion trauma, etc. I may have experience with some of what they are going through, but I’m no professional. I sometimes wish I was because I enjoy talking with them and watching them heal.These girls are amazing people.

One reason I like talking with people who struggle is that I struggle with clinical depression, an anxiety disorder, and post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). I was addicted to self harm for three years. Next month, I will have been clean for 8 years. I wish these things didn’t make up such a big part of who I am, but I am learning to embrace it and be more transparent about it because it allows me to reach out to others who are hurting. If I can help one person, then my trials are worthwhile.

The best and biggest part of me is my love for Jesus Christ. I believe the Bible to be true, even when I don’t always understand it. I believe church to be important, even the times when I find it boring. I’ve always grown up in a Christian family, but I had strong doubts as a child and even turned away from God at one point in my life. I went through a really rough time and saw some amazing things that proved to me God is real, that He loves me even when I have trouble loving myself. I know I’m going to lose a lot of readers by announcing my faith since Christianity is so unpopular today, but it is truly the biggest part of my life. God is who keeps me going.

That’s a small introductory to what makes me who I am.

Leave a Reply

